top of page

Reflecting and Anticipating


Yesterday we visited Basavanagudi to see the Bull Temple (Dodda Basavana Gudi -the Nandhi Temple). The Hindu temple is located inside Bugle Rock Park. The bull is referred to as a sacred Hindu demi-god and the statue was carved from a single stone (monolith is the term given when a single stone is used). As we exited the bus to enter the park I saw a man with a garbage cart. I was informed that he was employed to clean trash from the street. I asked if I could take his picture, and he seemed flattered that I was interested in someone who collects trash; but honestly, to me he was very important after seeing the mounding piles of trash over the last few days. He is part of the solution.

We walked to the small temple near the top of the hill. Our tour guide informed us that once a year in there is a large groundnut (peanut) festival at this location. It reminded me of similar harvest festivals in my hometown. The Hindu culture is very much linked to religion, and the presences of religious signs are all around us- roadside temples and even on the foreheads of those we pass. After visiting the temple we walked through the surrounding park. I was surprised at the relief from the litter. The park was beautiful and very well kept with trash receptacles stationed along winding pathways. It was evident that those who run the park are aware of the need for continued maintenance to keep the park clean. I found hope in the little oasis of Bugle Rock Park.

Today’s goal is to arrive at my host school location. I’ve been assigned with another TGC participant, Kevin Tambarato, to spend time at Vedavalli Vidyalaya in Walajapet. We will be working with a Physics teacher named Suresh Sundaram. I’m very much looking forward to the first hand observations and discussions of Walajapet educational system in India.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

This website is not an official U.S. Department of State website. The views and information presented are the grantee's own and do not represent the Teachers for Global Classrooms Program, IREX, or the U.S. Department of State.

bottom of page